Beta Mu

XI Chapter

Minutes -January 2010

The Illinois Chapter of Phi Beta Mu met for its annual meeting on Friday, January 39, 2010. The meeting was held at the Packard Plaza Hotel in Peoria in conjunction with the Illinois Music Educators Association Conference.

President David Vroman called the meeting to order at 11:30a.m.

Vroman led the membership in the Phi Beta Mu Installation and Oath. The following new members were presented with their Phi Beta Mu pins and welcomed by the


Greg Wojcik and Glen Schneider

Business Meeting:

The minutes from the 2009 January meeting were read and approved.

Executive Secretary's Report - Charles Groeling

The Annual Financial Report was distributed to those in

attendance and was accepted by a vote of the members present. The membership summary states that there are 111 members including the two new inductees.

Outstanding Bandmaster's Award Report – Keith Schmink

Keith Schmink encouraged the membership to nominate directors for this award. Written nominations are sent from the membership to the selection committee where final decisions are made.

Hall of Fame Report – David Vroman

David Vroman reported that the Hall of Fame forms are sent out to the membership and evaluated by committee members Dave Fodor, John Heath and George Caton. The membership was encouraged to make nominations.

Web Page

John Springbrunn stated that the template for the site has been established and currently no changes need to be made. He suggested that additional links may be added if members find something of interest. He also said that biography information could be added at anytime by sending it to John. Site address is

Old Business

The membership was given a handout on Chapter Organization and Procedures to refer to for chapter business.

New Business

David Vroman stated that the membership may want to look at some new projects to spend excess income on. It was suggested that one project might be to do something nice

for an all-state musician, possibly a scholarship. Kevin Carroll suggested that we might want to use the money to help out a music department or director in a district that is about to lose the program. Don Shupe suggested that we could email our ideas for the project to David Vroman.

David Vroman was also looking for suggestions about what to put on the IMEA Journal page. For example, he thought that we could use that space to discuss the good things that are going on in members’ music programs. Contact David Vroman with suggestions.

Charles Groeling reminded the membership that committees should to stay on schedule. It is important for him to know the committee results as soon as possible since he needs to order the plaques and pins, etc. in time to receive them for the January meeting.

John Springbrunn suggested that we might want to start a June electronic newsletter to remind members of committee meetings etc. He also thought that could be a way of updating everyone as to what other members are doing across the state.

Kevin Carroll led the membership in prayer and lunch was served.

Keith Schmink presented the Outstanding Bandmaster Award to Raeleen H. Horn.

(Notes from Palatine High School Band Web-site)

Raeleen Horn, Music Department Chair and Director of Bands marks her 29th year of teaching at Palatine High School. Her conducting responsibilities include Symphonic Band, Concert Band, Marching Band, Variety Show, Pit Band, Musical Pit Orchestra, Pep Band, Brass Choir and Jazz Ensemble.

Miss Horn received her Bachelor of Music Education degree from Northern Illinois University and her Master of Music degree from Northwestern University where she studied conducting with John P. Paynter.

Miss Horn is an active adjudicator and guest conductor and has published articles in The Instrumentalist and The School Musician. She is a recipient of the Quinlan and Fabish Chicagoland Outstanding Music Educator Award and in 1992 was the Tate and North Central Regional Award winner of the American School Band Director’s Association Stanbury Award.

Under Miss Horn’s direction, Palatine High School bands have traveled extensively throughout the United States participating in approximately 55 performances each year and have earned honors at state, national and international levels.

Some of these performances include: Memorial Day concert in the East Room of the Richard M. Nixon Library and Birthplace Foundations in Southern California; Disney’s Magic Music Days Parade – the Spectro Magic Parade in Orlando;

Pacific Basin Music Festival in Honolulu, Hawaii;

All-American Musical Festival and Citrus Bowl Parade in Orlando, Florida;

International Music Festival competition in Toronto, Canada.

The band was chosen to represent the State of Illinois in the WWII Memorial Dedication Parade in Washington D.C.

Twice the band performed in the Lord Mayor of Westminster’s New Year’s Day Parade in London England, being one of only 10 bands representing the United States in this international event.

Among other exciting opportunities for her students, members of the PHS Marching Band have appeared in two movies: Clint Eastwood’s Flags of our Fathers and The Express – starring Dennis Quaid and Rob Brown. This movie is about Ernie Davis, the first African American to win the Heisman Trophy Award.

Charles Groeling in his nomination summarized Raeleen’s work and reason for nomination very succinctly – “Outstanding work done consistently!”

Charles Groeling presented the Hall of Fame Award to William Johnson and Don Shupe

Biography information to be added to the minutes. The meeting was adjourned at 12:50

Respectfully submitted by Laura Ramseyer