Bandmasters Hall of Fame

The Hall of Fame Award recognizes members who have gone beyond developing outstanding performing organizations and have impacted school band music through research, writing, composition, and program development.


The Bandmasters Hall of Fame is located in Regenstein Hall on the campus of Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois. The display case can be found across from room 011, the main band rehearsal hall.

Click on a name for more information:

Charter Members, June 1, 1984

Robert Allan

Harry Begian

Forrest L. Buchtel

Ernest O. Caneva

Anton J. Cerveny

W. W. Chunn

• W. C. Edwards

Robert E. Gray

Haskell W. Harr

Mark Hindsley

Lyle A. Hopkins

Paul P. Jankowski

Robert E. Jorgensen

• Harold Luhman

Cloyd Myers

John Paynter

Charles S. Peters

Victor W. Zajec

Charter Members (deceased), June 1, 1984

Glenn Cliffe Bainum

Cleaon Etzkom

Lawrence Fogelberg

A. A. Harding

Franklin Kreider

• C. B. Nesler

H. E. Nutt

New Inductees

• 1985 A. R. McAllister (deceased)

• 1986 Gordon Triefenbach

• 1987 Bernard Stiner

• 1988 Fred Hubbell

• 1989 Donald S. Lewellen

• 1990 LaVerne R. Reimer

• 1991 Roman R. Palmer

• 1992 Edgar B. Gangware, Jr.

• 1993 Warren A. Felts

• 1994 Charles R. Groeling

• 1995 Randolph F. Kummer

• 1996 Peter M. Pappas

• 1997 Milton R. Mojzis

• 1998 Richard A. Alderman

• 1999 Jon R. Dugle

• 2000 Daniel A. Gannon

• 2001 Robert W. Hindsley

• 2002 William C. Worra

• 2003 Margene Pappas

• 2004 John A. Thomson

• 2005 Edward Jones

• 2006 David Morrison

• 2007 (none selected)

• 2008 Charles Menghini

• 2009 (none selected)

• 2010 Donald Shupe

• 2010 William Johnson

• 2011 Ross Kellan

• 2012 William Jastrow

• 2013 William McClellan

• 2014 David Wetmore

• 2015 (none selected)

• 2016 (none selected)

• 2017 Gary Smith

• 2018 Ted Lega

• 2019 (none selected)

• 2020 (none selected)

• 2021 Harold L. Hillyer

• 2022 Michael D. Hanes

Michael Hanes, former Director of Bands and professor of music at Southern Illinois University Carbondale, retired 2005 after thirty-eight years as a member of the SIUC music faculty. He holds a Bachelor of Music Education degree from Millikin University in Decatur, IL and a Master of Music Education from SIUC.

Mr. Hanes’ first teaching position was in Sandoval, IL where he was the sole instrumental and vocal music teacher for the system. He served in U.S. Army bands from 1967 to 1970 as percussionist and associate conductor of the 5th Division and 179th Army Bands in Fr. Carson, Colorado, and the 3rd Infantry Division Band in Wurzberg, Germany. He received the Army Commendation Medal for his work in Germany.

Over the course his career at SIUC he has served as director of the Marching Salukis, SIUC’s unique marching band, and the University Wind Ensemble, the School of Music’s select concert band, , as well as the Symphonic Band and University Percussion Ensemble. He was also professor of percussion , and professor of music education, as well as being very active in the School of Music’s music theater program. He served for many years as musical director and co-producer of the SIU Summer Playhouse, the university’s semi-professional summer musical theater program. For twelve years he conducted the major opera productions of the Marjorie Lawrence Opera Theater. His campus honors include the Amoco Foundation Outstanding Teacher Award, the Office of Student Affairs Service Award and the College of Communications and Fine Arts Alumni Achievement Award.

He retired as director of the Marching Salukis in 1997. Under his direction the Marching Salukis gained a national reputation as one of the more unique and popular college marching bands in the Midwest. The band has appeared many times on national television as well as performing throughout the Midwest at professional football games and other sporting events.

The Wind Ensemble, under Hanes’ leadership, maintained an active performance schedule that included campus performances as well as annual concert tours in the region. In 2004 the Wind Ensemble traveled to England for a nine-day concert, sharing concerts with Russian and British bands. The group has performed for the Illinois Music Educators Association as well as the College Band Directors National Association.

Mr. Hanes is very active as a guest conductor, clinician and adjudicator, leading junior high and high school festival and honors bands throughout the Midwest. In 2000 he conducted the Southeast Asia Honor Band in Hong Kong, China. He also conducted the Illinois All-State Honors Band in Peoria, IL in 2006.

Mr. Hanes is a native of southern Illinois (his hometown is Salem), still lives in Carbondale, and he has one daughter and twin grandsons who occupy much of his retirement time. He has served as conductor of the John A. Logan College Community Band from 2008 to the present.

He has held memberships in the College Band Director’s National Association, Illinois Music Educators Association, Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia, Pi Kappa Lambda, and the Golden Key national scholastic honor societies.